I have a newb question (VERY newb question)

gregd573

Oct 23, 2005
eldridge, missouri
Although I am not a professional by any means, I think that a metal object anywhere under the coil should set it off......where it pinpoints the target is another question. I have a Ace 250 and a Minelab Explorer and they both pinpoint at the center of the coil when sweeping from left to right, but they are a little different from front to back in that they pinpoint closer to the front of the coil. I have learned so much from these folks in this forum by reading past and present posts. So far, they have been right on target with my pinpointing "sweet spot". Post what kind of detector your swinging and I'm sure someone will be able to help you.........keep on swinging........gregd573

OP
OP
S

sbrowncpr

Thanks for the reply. I WAS using a crap Bounty Hunter from Wal Mart, but my ACE 250 will be here on Wednesday

Mighty AP

Silver Member
Mar 7, 2006
Livin' in a tar-paper shack in the woods of Easter
Detector(s) used
Fisher F70, Whites QXT, Garrett Pro-Pointer, "Mighty" Diggin' Tool
Im sort of a newbie too but this is the way I understand it. When pinpointing, dig where the center of the coil is. But remember, most machines are less accurate at pinpointing the closer the object is to the coil. So if your Ace 250 pinpoints at 1 inch depth, it may or may not be dead center of your coil, it will be more accurate at say, 4 inches depth. Make sense? Bottom line, dig a few hundred coins with your Ace 250 & you will know how your machine does. Hope this helps.........& you will get it. Congrats on the 250, I have one but rarely have used it, seems like a good machine.

gregd573

Oct 23, 2005
eldridge, missouri