new to this

mountaintramp

Tenderfoot
Mar 19, 2011
i'm new to metal detecting. today i bought a used White's 5900/Di pro plus. i read through the manual and i' stumped. i set it up using their "simplified instructions" and either somethings wrong with my detector or it's a lot harder to use than i'm thinking. i can't even "find" my knife even though it's sitting out in the open. if i set the sensitivity know full clockwise i get a broken audio signal, and the meter goes full right. doing the same thing i can't get a signal from a penny. i'm doing all this in my front room. i know this is kind of a short discription of what's happening, so if you ask some questions i can answer, which may help identify problems. i have the Blue Max deep scan 950 and 600 disks, and the machine looks to be in really good shape.

Upvote 0

Monty

Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
Sand Springs, OK
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You need to get outside to try it. All the metal in a normal house will throw everything out of kelter. Monty

River Rat

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2006
SE Louisiana
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Ace 250 & Ace 400
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Monty said:
You need to get outside to try it. All the metal in a normal house will throw everything out of kelter. Monty

Outside is the place to be.

OP
OP
M

mountaintramp

Tenderfoot
Mar 19, 2011
River Rat said:
Monty said:

Outside is the place to be.

yeah, i figured that out. i realized the nails and my wood stove are probably freaking it out. i'll have to wait a while, we're supposed to get snow tonight, and it was too cold for fun today. man, am i ready for spring.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca