New member with questions on first machine

N7XW

Feb 9, 2014
Western WA
Detector(s) used
ctx, atp, tejon, omega, etp, f2, compadre
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hopefully this is the correct location to post this. Apologies if not.

I am new to the hobby, have only gotten into it a few days ago and have been spending every waking minute researching detectors. For no particular reason, I am leaning toward the Fisher line.

I see the main difference between the F4 and F5 is that the F5 has frequency shift and phase lock whereas the F4 has neither (assuming the same 11" DD coil). My question is: how useful are these two features? Do they make a big difference or are they just another 'nice feature to have'. I do plan to hunt the ocean beach but will also spend time in parks and other areas where soils will vary between silt, sand, clay and gravel. I have pretty much narrowed it down to these machines but would like to know of any other recommendations in a similar price range.

I also don't know how much I really want to invest as I have never used a detector before but do foresee my family and I loving the hobby.

Thanks for any help.

Upvote 0

golden sluice

Dec 16, 2013
next to disneyland
Detector(s) used
Thanks Kellyco, and Garrett:smile:... I love my AT gold metal detector!
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello and welcome aboard!:hello:

In response to your questions, try them out at a shop if you can. Know your budget and set it aside... money should not be the decisive factor. You can get a great metal detector used for a great price. Dd coils are, in my case and experience are outstanding for ALL LEVELS of exp. I personally use a garrett a t gold. At the time I bought it, i was not aware of the stupid metal dector show on the discovery channel. Well, those guys did their homework investigating on what to buy. So did I, I guess im part of the in crowd. To me the garrett at gold is an amazing metal detector for the price. If its there it will find it.

OP
OP