New guy with the same old question....

donb62

Tenderfoot
Feb 22, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have a small amount of experience with a cheap detector and I want to get a better one. I have been reading this forum for a while trying to pick a new unit. I have decided the Garrett AT pro looks like the one to go with, but before I do I thought I would ask here if there is a better way to go in this price range...
Most of where I'll be using it is in the woods and beaches of northern Minnesota..Thanks, Don...

Upvote 0

detectingpro

Feb 14, 2014
Michigan
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Fisher F2
Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have no experience with either detector i'm going to mention, but you can try the Teknetics T2 or the fisher F70 both are great machines from what I hear. But other than that I think the At pro is probably your best bet. good luck (Ps) Contact bart at big boys hobbies, and he'll get you a great deal!

OP
OP
D

donb62

Tenderfoot
Feb 22, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
gleaner, can you add a little more to that..

fish1on

Silver Member
Aug 28, 2012
Farr West, utah
Detector(s) used
Fisher F70 with 6.5", 10" Elliptical, & 11" Search Coil. Garret pro pointer AT, Minelab excaliber II (New machine)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
F70 has a learning curve for sure but it has been a great upgrade for me. I did a ton of research and I am happy with my decision. Great depth, great ability to adjust settings for areas I detect, and light weight (my biggest need, back issues) so I can hunt for more than a couple hours.

SusanMN

Silver Member
Jun 1, 2007
Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tiger Shark, Xterra 705, Makro Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
With all the water and shoreline available to you, you will want to go with a unit that can be submersed. So, for land and water hunting, the At Pro is the best choice.

detectingpro

Feb 14, 2014
Michigan
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Fisher F2