GB and Mineralization

Smoker

Greenie
Feb 28, 2014
South Carolina
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Anyone out there that might answer this question. I am just wondering if the mineralization of a particular soil in a particular area has anything at all to do with the location and finding of gold....small or large. And as for the ground balance , the detectors which have it are they responsible for some how allowing certain frequency to balance it out so that the gold may be found.Don't know if it makes any sense as, I'm new to this and am curious as I know the GB seems to be a big issue. Although I know the gold itself is a mineral....Rascus

Upvote 0

airscapes

Nov 13, 2013
Philadelphia PA
Detector(s) used
DFX 950, U13,6"Exc & 4x6 Coils, Coinmaster GT 4x6 & NEL Hunter coil, TRX Pin Pointer, CZE-T200 FM Transmitter, Sangean DT-400W and ER6i in-ears.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Ground balancing and mineralization don't really have anything to do with gold..

GROUND BALANCE - A condition or mode of operation in which the detector is adjusted to optimally reduce the interference that ground mineralization has on metal targets.

MINERALIZATION - An amount of non-conductive and/or conductive properties in soil or sand on seashore. Mineralization may be:

• NATURAL MAGNETIC - iron oxide, hot rocks and magnetite;
• SPORADIC (also magnetic) - at sites of former human settlement - pottery, slag, bricks, hearths and hot rocks;
• LITTORAL - at the seashore - properties of this mineralization may range from magnetic (black sand) to electrically conductive (salt water) depending on the beach or region.

I to am fairly new to this hobby and I would suggest spending a good amount of time at this site Truth about Metal Detecting & Treasure Hunting - All Info! Which is where those definitions came from..

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used