Looking to upgrade, Any thoughts?

mattyshore

Jul 16, 2013
Westbury, NY
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey everyone! I have been swinging an F2 with 8 inch coil for about three years now. I love the machine and work it hard and have been pleased with what I have found. I really want to upgrade but money is a little tight right now so was thinking of getting the 11 inch DD coil for the F2 while I save up for a second machine. I have been very interested in the AT Pro and know a few people who have found some great things with them, but then this weekend I ran into a few other guy detecting who were talking to me about going with White's and they are double the AT Pro price. Is the AT Pro a good upgrade from an F2? The big this is I can't detect wet sand at the ocean beaches with an F2 only the dry sand. Let me know your thoughts and ideas, I am just hooked on this hobby! Thanks everyone.

Upvote 0

Fletch88

Silver Member
Mar 7, 2013
Valdosta, GA
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATPro- 8.5x11, 5x8, CORS Fotune 5.5x9.5
Tesoro Silver microMax- 8 donut, 8x11 RSD, 3x18 Cleansweep
Minelab Excalibur ll- 10" Tornado
Minelab CTX 3030
Minelab Xterra 305
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You can get the MX-5 used with warranty for around $450. Very good machine imo and I actually like it better than the MXT-Pro for most hunting situations.

Carolina Tom

Gold Member
Apr 4, 2014
Charlotte
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus V3.2 9" & 11" Coils, AT Pro, ProPointer AT, Lesche 55, 75 & 80LT
Primary Interest:
Other
I used an AT Pro for a little while, and really liked it. For the money, it is an excellent machine. I switched to Deus, and really enjoy using it... however, it is a bit more expensive. Good luck!

fliermartin

Sep 11, 2014
southeast wisconsin
Detector(s) used
ATgold and Minelab Explorer II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting