chevyman75

Dec 22, 2013
clarion, pa
Detector(s) used
bounty hunter discovery 1100
discovery 3000
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
i have been detecting a yard in town for 3 years now, its not very big i keep getting clad and some wheat odds and ends. best yet was a 1904 indian head... but where on the property should i look more into? there is a big tree (old property marker) but its roots are so thick out about 6-8 feet from it can maybe get an inch down if your lucky.. but no other markers to detect around. any ideas on where to seach more. every time i scan i find stuff all over there is no general area i have found more in. just out for some info. house was built in 1900's i believe.

Thanks, nate

Upvote 0

WhiteTornado

Jun 18, 2013
Baltimore/DC area
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Tesoro Cibola, Garrett Pro-pointer, Sampson T-handle Shovel, Lesche hand digger, Garrett and Gray Ghost Ultimate headphones
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Are there any old photos of the property that might indicate past uses? Example: area where a clothesline was used in the past or where an outhouse may have been. Has the owner given any useful information about the property's history? They might know where people congregated outside or where certain activities took place on a regular basis in the yard. Are there any structures on the property other than the house? A shed, for example.

You should also hunt along the sides of any driveway or sidewalk, and around the mailbox.

thaigler

Jul 27, 2016
North Carolina
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Tesero Bandidio, Garrett Pro-Pointer AT
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
If I see daffodillies (flowers) growing in an area in the woods. I know they just did not get there on there own. Women planted this all of the time around their house.Look on trees for where barbwire growing into a tree, Barbwire on the ground, a large pile of rocks, springs where someone may have got water at one time....some of the things I look for.

Tom