Input on a first time detector

JJ1965

Jul 27, 2016
Blythewood, SC
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I have hunted Native American relics most of my life, but have recently gotten interested in doing some metal detecting, and am considering a first time purchase of a detector. Can any of you give me some advice on what would be a good beginners detector? I would be interested in something to find coins and jewelry, as well as civil war relics, as I am in an area rich with civil war stuff, and would probably like to stay in the price range of under $600 or so. I have no knowledge of this hobby, so any good advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Upvote 0

James/Texas

Mar 6, 2008
Edinburg, Texas
Detector(s) used
Many. A lot. Whole bunch. Several.
Right in your price range and on sale right now is the wonderful Fisher F75. Can not go wrong with this detector. Look up some dealers that sponsor here.

Liu21

Dec 14, 2014
Brooklyn, NY
Detector(s) used
AT Pro/BH Platinum, (Garret Pro-Pointer)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
highly recommend the AT pro, with 5x8 and NEL/CORS 12x13 coils. Cant go wrong with that.

beerguy

Bronze Member
May 6, 2004
Camano Island, WA
Detector(s) used
CTX3030,
Many more on a rotating basis.
Park Ranger and Pack Mule pouches by Freeloader!
There will be a few options for you to consider, but make sure you buy a machine from a sponsoring vendor on T-Net.

You will have lots of support here and make a vendor happy.

Once you decide on a machine, pay attention to the other things that you will need, such as a pinpointer and a QUALITY digging tool, you will find that some vendors have packages that include name brand accessories, and some offer junk.

For instance, Big Boys Hobbies has Lesche diggers and Garrett pinpointers with many of their machines.

That is important.

Good luck and happy hunting.

foiler

Mar 17, 2013
Kansas
Detector(s) used
Fisher, Wilson-Neuman, Whites, Minelab, Tesoro and others I've long since forgotten