garety

Jan 23, 2017
red bluff california
Detector(s) used
GB pro DP
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So how fast do coins typically sink?

I realize IT DEPENDs, upon soil type. But I am just wondering how deep do you have to go to find a silver coins? I have a lot of red clay type soil where I am at in northern California. I have a gold bug pro DP, so ground balance is not an issue. Been finding a fair amount of coins probably 3 or 4 every hour, and I have been going to various parks and stuff for an hour or 2 after work. I have found a fair number of coins as deep as 5 inches, but the oddest coin I have found so far is a 1965, quarter. one year shy of silver.

Also does some soil decompose coins fast? I have gotten lots of 2000s coins that are barely readable. Just trying to figure out if I am doing anything wrong, as most the sites I have been hunting have had people there for 150 years, but most coins I find are less than 30 years old.

Upvote 0

enamel7

Gold Member
Apr 16, 2005
North Carolina
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This might be better asked in the detecting forum.

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tn_md.gif
1st - I noticed this is your very first post - so - Welcome Aboard garety! You didn't list your state (or country) in your profile. So, you might consider jumping over to Sub-Forums: Select Your Area.... and selecting location information (i.e., clubs, hunts, finds, legends, maps, etc.) directly related to your state (or country).
tn_moved_over.gif
2nd - I moved this request from Coins over to Metal Detecting for more exposure.

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting