Ghost Signals

Schmidt1989

Feb 18, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm a beginner, and I've been out with my Fisher F2 twice now for several hours. Once was on sand, the other was on soil that's mostly limestone (I'm in central texas, and it's mostly limestone). I got lots and lots of signals in both places, but whenever I'd dig, I couldn't find anything and scanning the area again would result in no signal. I've watched a lot of tutorials on the detector, so I feel like I have a basic understanding of proper scanning technique and the button functions on the detector itself including the different signal sounds/numbers/metal types. It was really frustrating to not find anything. I found nothing either time, not even a bottle cap or pull tab. Sometimes even pointing the detector towards the sky resulted in signals, so, what could I be doing wrong?

Thank you.

Upvote 0

smokeythecat

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You are not necessarily doing wrong. I don't have a Fisher so can't give you much of an opinion on them. When I run into a problem I re-read the manual first. Make sure your settings are correct. I sometimes get "false" signals. Most of the time it's due to me whacking the loop (again) on weeds or corn stalks. At the beach a tiny piece of metal or a hot rock. Those hot rocks, mainly coal around here, just plain stink. I have had a few signals disappear temporarily, and then find them. Normally what happens is I've thrown it out of the hole farther than what I had expected, or it stuck to the shovel in muddy ground. If you're pointing to the air, and it goes off you could be getting electromagnetic interference. Make sure your connections are tight. If it keeps up, I'd also call the factory. Fisher stands behind their products.

Joe-Dirt

Silver Member
Jan 18, 2018
Central Massachusetts
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used