Bronze Member
Sep 23, 2007
Seymour Johnson AFB, NC
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75 LTD, Deteknix Scuba Tector
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am fairly new to the GT but am getting quite comfortable with it now. I listen for the smooth HIGH pitched tones that are consistent from 2 directions. My question is this: does anyone else dig other tones besides the high tones as long as the tones meet the criteria above?? Obviously, the very low tones can be skipped since they are foil. Has anyone found that they have found some good stuff by digging lower tones than the very high silver/copper coin tone? Thanks for sharing your experience. Bryan

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am fairly new to the GT but am getting quite comfortable with it now. I listen for the smooth HIGH pitched tones that are consistent from 2 directions. My question is this: does anyone else dig other tones besides the high tones as long as the tones meet the criteria above?? Obviously, the very low tones can be skipped since they are foil. Has anyone found that they have found some good stuff by digging lower tones than the very high silver/copper coin tone? Thanks for sharing your experience. Bryan

I will dig even some foil tones while detecting sand since it is easy to dig. It is best to tell what tones to dig is to lay down a bunch or different targets including foil and white gold and yellow gold rings. You will notice the rings have about the same tone as the foil but the sound will be irregular in the way the sound starts out and finishes. This is not an exact science as the orientation of the target to the sweep and such can produce a different tone, but the way it ramps up and down is smooth.