Ben Cartwright SASS

Bronze Member
Aug 7, 2012
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Whites, Garrett
Primary Interest:
Other
Being a newbie, my wife and I were watching Gold Fever, taped this last Sat. he was showing the different types of getting gold, he demonstrated panning, he went out to a stream leaned down scooped a panfull of surface gravel and panned it and found gold. Granted that is in NC where gold is probably really plentiful, but what am I doing wrong I have never found anything even when I dig a foot down behind a rock. He gets gold with every scoop.

Upvote 0

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
yea LOL on film he gets gold with every scoop (well almost, I have seen him get skunked)
for the most part I do believe he is honest enough not to Salt his pan,
however They only air the pan with the gold, even if it takes a dozen trys to get a good pan.

I do believe he salts is Detecting finds though.
they find too many silver dollars & guns for my belief system.
last show I watched he did mention taking trash with though,
instead of silently tossing it to the side :laughing7:

Last edited:
OP
OP
Ben Cartwright SASS

Ben Cartwright SASS

Bronze Member
Aug 7, 2012
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Whites, Garrett
Primary Interest:
Other
I did find the end of the show funny, he was showing how to pan a staple out of a pan of dirt, the outtakes at the end of the show showed the 3 times (at least) that he lost the staple :tongue3:

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Tom Massie is one of the last things guys or gals getting into gold prospecting should look up to.....he has let his father down in so many ways it is a total shame.

Last edited:

NeoTokyo

Bronze Member
Aug 27, 2012
Redding
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used