Jul 29, 2017
The Old North State
Detector(s) used
Equinox 600
Tesoro Cutlass
Bounty Hunter Tracker II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to gold panning and I've been playing at it in some of the streams in Orange and Durham Counties in NC as well as near my hometown in Cumberland and Moore Counties. I've found a few "bright spots" in my pan but certainly not enough to retire on. Still, one glimmer of gold in your pan and the addiction has begun.

I've been researching a spot on a small river in Moore County that looks like it has fairly good potential due to the eddies and currents around some old structures as well as an abundance of black sand. I had a trip planned for that spot on Friday (9/21) but hurricane Florence has caused the river to rise 25 feet above its normal level.

My question is this: does the fact of a flood increase the deposition of gold (and other heavy things) in the places where gold may naturally be found? My other thought is that the sheer volume and velocity of water may displace some of the materials that were in place before the flood.

Any thoughts or ideas are welcomed. Papa needs to find some gold. I've got habits to support (new detectors, magnets, sluices, guns, etc.)!

Upvote 0

madmantrapper

Sep 1, 2018
Carroll County, Maryland
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I don't have answers for you but I was thinking about the same thing last night. I have couple schools of thought on this. First it seems like more gold would move from where ever it comes from. The question is where would it settle out. I think when the flood waters became less turbulent,the gold would fall out. The question is how much turbulence is to much and where does that take place?

Peyton Manning

Gold Member
Dec 19, 2012
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
MXT-PRO
Sandshark
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
yes, if there was gold, there will be more after substantial flooding

rodoconnor

Bronze Member
Mar 4, 2012
Primary Interest: