Detector(s) used
Minelab SN/XS
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

bradley1719

Oct 26, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It looks like you've gotten some pretty good advice over there. I applaud you for being honest and trying to give them an honest price. However, don't shoot yourself in the foot. The price of silver could continue to go down. Make sure you have a little wiggle room if that happens. You are taking on risk if you are not going to turn around and wholesale them off for a quick profit. Also, there could potentially be fakes in the bunch. Both of these points are minor risks so I wouldn't lose too much sleep over it as long as you are giving yourself some wiggle room.

Good luck.

jim4silver

Silver Member
Apr 15, 2008
Not commenting on Bill's situation at all. But just as a general situation, if I ever decided to go to garage sales looking specifically for cheap PM's (I've never done that before), and let's say I found a sale that had a big collection of silver coins for sale. I would offer them the least I could to acquire the coins. I guess I am a bad guy for that. If it were a friend or family type thing and someone came to me and asked what the value is, that would be different and I would direct them to the best paying coin dealer I knew. In this modern age if someone is too lazy to check prices online, or to pick up a phone book and call a few coin stores, then I believe it is my obligation to accept the universe's gift and buy the coins cheap. The only exception to this is if the person selling the coins is obviously mentally ill or otherwise mentally handicapped.