Old Farmhouse

jyt2017

May 7, 2010
New England
Detector(s) used
Excal WOT
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
I have a few questions here for seasoned pros. This summer I intend on hunting my first farmhouse. There is some history to it which I will get into later. I am anticipating that there are "caches" of old coins and maybe money buried on the property [I have good reason to believe this].

First question. What type of machine would be best suited for this? I own a fisher 1280 and a BHID. I hunt freshwater, so I am new to this.

From the properties history/use I would anticipate plenty of coins to find using those machines, but I don't think they are the right machines to use for deeper targets. I will probably only get a few chances to do this so I wanna prepare and do it correctly.

Second question. Whats the best approach on the owner. Should I inform him he is probably sitting on something good and offer 50 50%...or should I down play what I am doing? I like the person, so I was siding with the 50 50.

Lastly, should I ask for access to the basement of his house...I am not sure how much digging I would want to do there...but if money was hidden on the property well there is a chance some was buried in the basement.

Thanks for your help. Cheers HH -Joe

K

Kentucky Kache

joeb1999 said:
I have a few questions here for seasoned pros. This summer I intend on hunting my first farmhouse. There is some history to it which I will get into later. I am anticipating that there are "caches" of old coins and maybe money buried on the property [I have good reason to believe this].

First question. What type of machine would be best suited for this? I own a fisher 1280 and a BHID. I hunt freshwater, so I am new to this.