Coin Cleaning Question

DJ_Quinn

Bronze Member
Apr 25, 2005
Southeastern Ireland
I know this isn't the best place to post this, but here it goes anyway, ( I want tto post the photos after I have some new finds fixed )

I tried to clean several old coins, ( coppers) that I found last night using vinegar, ( I know, I know... bad idea ), they had a lot of crud.
The vinegar removed any tone, and they are very hard to read/ make out now.
Any tips for re-toning them?

Cheers!

Upvote 0
OP
OP
DJ_Quinn

DJ_Quinn

Bronze Member
Apr 25, 2005
Southeastern Ireland
Thanks badger. I'll try the oven trick first.
I guess the import lesson I learned was not to try to clean them in the first place.
I've heard that soapy watewr in a tumbler is the best if they are really grimy.

N

NEWBIE DETECTOR

hello. i am new to metal detecting.i live in florida and have found many coins that have been coroded or things on them .i tried electrolosis once and it worked fairly well.i used a small car battery charger with the positive connected to the coin and the other conectd to a large washer for a ground.it took most of the crap off the coin.just an idea.keep on digging. ;D

N

NEWBIE DETECTOR

i used i believe it was a 12 volt.make sure both ends are submersed in the water and the connectors do not touch.it probably took 10 minutes per coin.good luck.

OP
OP
DJ_Quinn

DJ_Quinn

Bronze Member
Apr 25, 2005
Southeastern Ireland
Thanks newbie.
Can't help you on the FT. Meyers question, but if you ever get to Ireland, there are plenty of un-picked-apart sites.

DJ

JerV3

Gold Member
Feb 28, 2005
Three Rivers
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac ,Xp Deus, Ctx 3030, Vanquish 440 X 2, Equinox 600, Equinox 800