Georgia/Atlanta question.

jbow

Sep 24, 2005
Cartersville, GA
Hi,

I am new to the hobby of metal detecting but have been both a rockhound, a lapidary, and an arrowhead collector but enough of that...

I live in N.GA and am unsure of the laws here and in the city of Atlanta public parks. I figure if I call someone at the city of Atlanta I will come away more confused than before II called and probably angry as well. There are public parks in the area of Peachtree Battle but I don't want trouble with the man.

Private property? Is verbal permission good enough? What about roadsides? What about WMAs after hunting season, I know of an old homestead on one near me?

I am reading "The detectorist", studying maps, and trying to get out and practice everyday.

Thank you for the help.

Julien Bowles

gldhntr

Bronze Member
Dec 6, 2004
not sure of the laws in your area but i would love to check out stone mountain....rev war and civil war research both point to that area as having caches well worth recovery.............gldhntr

ameruss

Sep 27, 2005
I called the georgia natrual resoruse office andt hey dont allow any hunting on ga parks. you can go to there web site and it will tell you the same. I was very dissapointed in this my self.. ameruss

OP
OP
J

jbow

Sep 24, 2005
Cartersville, GA
I traded a couple of emails with Jay Lowery, the director of parks for the city of Atlanta and it is illegal to use a metal detector and/or dig in ANY public park in the city of Atlanta.

Bummer...

This should be known by everyone because it is a common belief among detectorists that it is ok to search public parks but not here...

J

adb2

Tenderfoot
Jun 1, 2005
georgia
Great new to this area also. Wonder what the penalty would be. hope a warning Don't they have better things to enforce.

adb2

Tenderfoot
Jun 1, 2005
georgia
Good info thanks.
Its a shame about fed and state land. Its not like were going in there with a backhoe.

Weazel

Jan 26, 2006
Covington, GA