ScubaDetector

Silver Member
Mar 1, 2016
Port Huron MI
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
2 Fisher CZ-21's 8 and 10" coils
Tesoro Tiger Shark 8 and 10" coils (Interchangeable)
Minelab E-Trac with Sun Ray Probe
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Folks this is just a legal rant concerning the legality of detecting and the police. I posted on here and another website and some want to condemn me for my actions.

First some history. I was a state police officer when my parents were killed by a guy on drugs that hit them head on after he went over a double yellow line. He got 6 months in jail for killing two people. After that I got cynical and cuffed and stuffed every drunk that I pulled over. I was forced out of the department. I refuse to open myself to criticism as this was over 25 years ago and yes I could have done somethings different but I didn't and I am still here and loving life.

I do NOT care if the police are called on me. If people want to stick their nose in my business that is their problem not mine. I am polite to EVERY officer UNLESS they give me an attitude right off the bat. I GLADLY give one back.

Last Sunday was NO exception. I am diving in a place that is illegal to dive from the letter of the law. You have to have permission from the Detroit Harbormaster in order to dive. LAW HERE:

Swimming and underwater diving; prohibitions. (Detroit River)

(a) A person shall not swim, bathe, or engage in underwater diving operations outside of buoyed and designated swim areas, except when authorized by the city police department harbormaster.

(b) This section does not preclude bona fide commercial salvage diving operations, and emergency and recovery operations by any law enforcement agency.

(Ord. No. 40-97, § 1, 11-26-97)