Latest on the Iron Door Cave

Solar1953

Jul 2, 2013
Arlington, TX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
OK, I'm still a newbie here, but haven't seen or heard anything lately on the so-called "Iron Door Cave" in the Wichita Mountains. I have sort of a personal interest in this story in that Belle Starr is a very distant cousin. She was Belle Shirley before she married Sam Starr, and since my own last name is Shirley, I'd like to find out all I can about this mystery. I seriously doubt that she had anything to do with a Railroad car door being dragged up into the rocky Wichitas, mainly since I spent a career as a Railroader, I KNOW what a baggage car door would have weighed; not only that, but very FEW were entirely made of iron. Most, of that period, were wooden doors, perhaps with an iron frame, but never entirely made of iron. If that had been the case, it would have been FAR too bulky an item to have dragged up into the rocky environs of the Wichitas by horseback. BUT, other items of information gathered over the years leads me to believe that there is something to this mystery. So what is the latest anyone has heard?

milk86

Jun 6, 2011
Oklahoma City, OK
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE Pro
Have not heard anything about the door. But my grandmother on my fathers side told stories of Belle coming to visit her family and the family would give her food all she had to do was ask. She grew up around McAlester area. outside of the town but just thought I would mention the bigger town.

OP
OP
S

Solar1953

Jul 2, 2013
Arlington, TX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Have not heard anything about the door. But my grandmother on my fathers side told stories of Belle coming to visit her family and the family would give her food all she had to do was ask. She grew up around McAlester area. outside of the town but just thought I would mention the bigger town.