Jun 1, 2007
Near Bangor, Maine
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
ProPointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
1940's American Safety Razor (A.S.R.) Lighter

100_0198.JPG It rained most of the holiday weekend :'(, so what's a girl to do? I had to content myself with the sport of "GARAGESAILING"! I am a newbie, for sure, but I saw this ASR lighter and thought it might well be worth the $4 asking price..but, when I chewed them down to $3 (that's how many singles I had on me), I knew I had a bargain!!

SilverForBrains

Bronze Member
Feb 1, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
don't know much about these but it looks like a good $3 buy to me!

diggummup

Gold Member
Jul 15, 2004
Somewhere in the woods
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice find. Is that a copper one or is it the lighting? Although I haven't smoked for almost 7 years I still buy lighters and tobacciana related items all the time.

OP
OP
artemis moon

artemis moon

Jun 1, 2007
Near Bangor, Maine
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
ProPointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Nice find. Is that a copper one or is it the lighting? Although I haven't smoked for almost 7 years I still buy lighters and tobacciana related items all the time.

Congratulations on kicking the habit- not an easy one to break, for sure.

It's not copper, just the lighting in the photo. It is gold tone metal with a bakelite (I think that's what it's called) faux tortoise shell case.

I decided to list it on E-Bay, but I guess I overpriced it with a starting bid of $19.99 and a "Buy it Now" price of 42.99. So far, it hasn't gotten any bids. I wasn't able to find any others with the tortoise shell case, so I was hoping that it was "rare" and would bring a slightly higher price. I'll have to relist it starting lower and see what happens. Can you advise on what a reasonable asking price for this item would be? I'm just learning the ropes when it comes to selling on E-Bay, but it's addictive!

diggummup