1943 copper-too "good" to be true

TJPOPELKA

Jul 31, 2006
Escanaba, Mi
Detector(s) used
White's XLT/Minelab E-Trac
1943 copper-too "good" to be true

I am new to this column and very much a novice when it comes to treasure hunting-so please bear with me as I tell this story if I ramble to much.
I just bought a garrett ace 250 about a month ago-starting detecting just in my yard to learn how to use the machine. Found some wheat pennies & 1 silver mercury dime (along with a lot of junk)-needless to say-after the dime I am now hooked-i have "the bug".
Anyways, I finally got the "nerve" to leave my yard a try the local beach-not much luck. The second day out I went to an areal called portage point in my town-it's not the official beach-but a place where people do go swimming, walk their dogs, etc. I detected for about 3 hours, found a total of 51 cents-with one being a wheat cent. I didn't really look at the coins until I got home-more focused on just learning how to use the machine. About 10:00 p.m. after my kids went to bed-i pulled out the coins to grab the wheat cent to add it to the coin book I had just bought-looked at the date-it was a 1943 plain penny. I could not believe my eyes-this coin was copper colored-not steel. I looked at it under my