$350 budget

justinfisch01

Nov 19, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I am just getting into metal detecting and would like to buy my first detector. My budget is $350. I am open to new or used but I get confused with some of the middle of the line detectors. I am mostly looking for coins, jewlery, and relics on land but would occasionally try my luck on the beach after a big storm but that will be the least of my detecting. I know I can get my hands on a Fisher Auquanauts 1280× for $350. Although it appears to be much older than the current model under that name. I need help getting the most bang for my buck. All suggestions are welcome

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
If I were planning on detecting land sites mainly, and the least amount of time in the surf, I would not buy a water detector. There are many used and new detectors in your price range that have more options.

Last edited:

OWK

Apr 26, 2014
North Central Md
Detector(s) used
Fisher F70, F75
Garrett Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I agree with Loco.

If you're going to hunt mostly on land, don't buy a purpose-built water detector.

Your $350 should buy you into a pretty nice Fisher, Garrett, or Minelab detector used on eBay.

I would advise waiting long enough to save another $50 or $100.

That will significantly improve the class of used machine you can buy (particularly with new machines hitting the market recently)

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
You should also consider the price of a Lesche digging tool or another brand and a good pinpointer. JMO

Fletch88

Silver Member
Mar 7, 2013
Valdosta, GA
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATPro- 8.5x11, 5x8, CORS Fotune 5.5x9.5
Tesoro Silver microMax- 8 donut, 8x11 RSD, 3x18 Cleansweep