Silver Member
Aug 9, 2007
Wherever Silver's Hidin'
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorers and E-Trac
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
[email protected] heat finally let up but then the rains came! I got out for a few hours to a place I've pounded for 25 years...but I've only been there a couple of times with the SE. I hunted a grown up area that used to be a garden back in the 30's. It was the former playyard at an old grade school and I have hunted it before...but the grass is always 12" tall or more...just like today. I started out with the stock coil and that lasted about 10 minutes because of the usual falsing. I then switched to my 12.5 Excelerator coil and as usual the SE calmed down. This garden was loaded with coins but to my dismay I didn't find much silver. I founds tons of old wheaties from 1913 1914 1915 1917 1918 and more...then the indian heads started popping out. I've been hunting since 1979 and NEVER have I found 5 indian heads in one hunt. As usual they were corroded but the one 1893 is VERY nice although the scan doesn't show it well. I thought for sure the Barber dimes would start popping out...but it didn't happen. I only managed 2 mercs...tons of OLD wheaties...5 indian heads...a cool 5 cent pool hall token..and a Minneapolis Moline medallion. I then had a sweet hit and thought for sure I had me a Barber quarter...but from 10" out pops the bent solid sterling silver compact case top. The scan doesn't show it but it has ornate engravings in it and is marked sterling. About a foot away I get another solid quarter hit and again get excited. Out pops some kind of Military button or pin (I assume?)from almost 10" down. What you see is exactly what it is and says...U.S. so I assume its military??
About 10 feet away another solid quarter hit and out pops the flexible bottom sterling silver ring from 8" down. I searched the hole thoroughly and couldn't find a stone but I know it had one in it at one time.