A newbie asking for help

May 2, 2012
Minnnesota
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter TK4 Tracker IV Metal Detector
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone,

I'm new to metal detecting and have recently started the hobby. So far I have been out to about 10 or 12 different locations - which I have had trouble finding a potential place to even hunt. I live in Minnesota and despite my research, I am having a tough time. I'm not sure if it is the metal detector I am using, if I am using it wrong, or if there is literally nothing to detect in my area. (I live in the Savage area of Minnesota) I've found some clad and a few odds and ends, but other then that nothing. I was hoping you guys would have some tips for me.

Is sensitivity supposed to be as high as you can get it?
Should I buy a different metal detector, or is the one I am using alright to start with?
Anyone from Minnesota have any tips on locations or places I could look?

Thanks for any help guys!

ivan salis

Gold Member
Feb 5, 2007
callahan,fl
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
delta 4000 / ace 250 - used BH and many others too
I can help you a lot * -- the tracker IV (4) is basically a tone (sound type) machine * - the "meter" on it is basically useless - forget about it for the most part --

now the "basics's" - of the tracker 4 -- it has 3 "modes" that it can run in via its "toggle switch" --- it has 3 tones a low iron tone (sounds like a farting noise) - a mid tone -- and a high "ping" tone

#1 (far left setting) is "all metal mode" it makes only 1 sound --since your not be selective * on what you want to find - it will pick up all conduictive metals ( basically everything ) iron , foil, aluminum , nickel, gold ,zinc, copper ,brass, silver and mixtures of metals