Advice / Trouble shooting - Tejon

o-dat-bob

Tenderfoot
Jul 6, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
All right, newbie here, just bought a used Tesoro Tejon but pretty much looks like new, came with box, instructions, bumper sticker... everything but the card which had already been sent in. I'm doing my damnedest to try to figure it out going step by step through the procedures in the manual, turning all dials to the proper position and then following orders for an air test. The first thing I notice is the lack of a constant hum adjustable with the threshold or sometimes a continuous hum that can't be silenced. This is in the house, if I take it outside it squawks all over the place, have tried turning the Ground Adjust every which way but that doesn't seem to help. Is there anywhere in the San Fernando Valley where I can have it checked? I'm not too stressed if it has to go back as I got it real cheap but I'd like to eliminate operator error first.

Thanks

???

Last edited:

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well it might not be operator error at all but electrical interference from microwave towers, cell phones, or even transformers and dog or security fences on your property or nearby. Drive out away from people to test it our. Clean out the coil cover of sand. Do a battery check and pull the trig while in all metal and try different frequencies with knob. If you think it is still "FUBAR'ed", Tesoro may still fix it for free. They are the only manufacturer that does this even for non orginal owners.

OP
OP
O

o-dat-bob

Tenderfoot
Jul 6, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting