Advice

boblemon

May 14, 2015
Kansas city Kansas
Detector(s) used
All Garretts
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm considering getting a rock crusher and crushing rock for gold. Theres a couple things i need to know. Where i can purchase high grade ore, I'm in Kansas so Colorado is going to be the closest i can get to a mine. Would it even be profitable for me to try. I'm retired so i can travel if need be. Basically i'm looking for a small scale hobby to offset daily expenses. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm a newbie to this and more educated with metal detecting but i just love smashing stuff. lol Thanks everyone

kcm

Gold Member
Feb 29, 2016
NW Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
Other
Are you looking at continuously having ore shipped to your location? I believe that would most likely cost more than what you could get back out of it. Probably the best idea would be to do some research on old mines, sample around until you find one that has some decent ores, then make outing trips. This shouldn't be too difficult as you are retired. Could always stay in a nearby motel. Could haul your equipment in on the trailer, crush and run the bulk of material on site, then haul home your equipment and concentrates.

Another thought might be to consider getting into placer mining, as there is a lower startup cost and less work to get the gold. No matter what you hear, there's still a LOT of gold out there to be found. With placer, is best to look where placer gold has been found in the past. For lode gold, need to figure out just how involved you want to get - getting leftover ores from an old mine, starting up your own mine, or maybe checking around and finding someone you trust to be partners with.

...Curious, why do you mention about crushing ore?

rockbar

Oct 19, 2015
AZ
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
good points there kcm.