annie oakley 1899

josh100

Greenie
Jan 19, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone im new on here i was handed down some coins 2 of them are british pennies dated 1899 and 1898 both of them have the word A.OAKLEY and a bullet hole in each i got them from my grandad who worked in a circus in england just after any info i have no knoledge of coins so anything will be helpfull thanks in advance 20140117_194817_LLS.jpg 20140117_195002_LLS.jpg 20140117_194927_LLS.jpg

Upvote 4

treblehunter

Gold Member
Jun 18, 2013
New Jersey
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excalibur II
XP Deus
Garrett pro pointer
XP Deus MI-6 pinpointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Very interesting, I would think if you have a way to show ties to your grandfather (photos, newspaper, circus literature) they could be worth big money. I'm no expert, just watch "Pawn Stars" and I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express.

OP
OP
J

josh100

Greenie
Jan 19, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi thanks for the reply i will have to check his stuff for circus related items. I think he only use to pack stuff up and transport all the gear how uncommon are these coins sorry for the questions just wantes to fi d out as much as possible thanks

CRUSADER

Gold Member
May 25, 2007
ENGLAND
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II v0.6 with 11" Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tagging post

interesting piece!

Its a 'British Penny'.

huntsman53

Gold Member
Jun 11, 2013
East Tennessee
Primary Interest:
Other
Very interesting, I would think if you have a way to show ties to your grandfather (photos, newspaper, circus literature) they could be worth big money. I'm no expert, just watch "Pawn Stars" and I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express.

You could have saved 15 percent on your car Insurance by switching to GEICO! LOL!! Just thought I would throw that one in since we see GEICO Commercials every few minutes.