Are headphones needed?

Bent-Twig

Jun 9, 2008
North Central Ohio
Hi,

I am new to this metal detecting and was wondering if I missed something. I have a Fisher F5 and just bought it used. It came as metal detector only. I see that it has a jack for headphones. I see a lot of people "most people" in their pictures are using headphones. Is there an advantage to this? My machine sounds off from the conrol box. Why do you need headphones if the machine has ID sounds already? Just wondering if I am missing something, cause I am new to this? By the way , any suggestions on a digging tool and pinpointer would be appreciated.

Twig.

battlecat

Dec 23, 2004
moosic pa
No but it is polite. I have hunted a property without headphones and have been asked to leave cause the Dog was going crazy inside hearing my MD.

godisnum1

Silver Member
May 7, 2005
Saint Petersburg, FL
Detector(s) used
Nokta Legend Pro Pack, Nokta Legend WHP w/ LG24 coil, Nokta Pulse Dive Pinpointer, White's IDX Pro (x2), Vibraprobe 570
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Headphones allow you to focus and hear the sounds much better... it definitely helps in crowded areas, or if you have ADD (Attention Deficit OHHH Shiney!!!) like me! ;D Seriously, you'll hear the sounds much clearer with a good pair of headphones!! :thumbsup:

Bran <><

RJGMC

Sep 6, 2008
KANSAS CITY METRO
Detector(s) used
SIMPLEX, EQUINOX AND TESORO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting