claire

Nov 24, 2008
long island ny
๐Ÿ† Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites Prizm V, MX 5, Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been detecting for about 6 years with my whites prism v, and I have become quite comfortable and adept at using the machine even in the wet sand. Recently, the coil went bad and I am considering getting a new machine. I would love some input into what the best machine would be for me. The following are features that are important to me; it must be light weight, must have pinpointing, medium price range, discrimination. I mostly do beach hunting. Any help would be appreciated

Upvote 0

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
๐Ÿฅ‡ Banner finds
๐Ÿ† Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting

Irishgoldhound

Bronze Member
Jul 15, 2013
๐Ÿฅ‡ Banner finds
If you do mostly beach, why not upgrade to a "beach" detector, like an Excalibur II, a Whites Beach Hunter ID or the Fisher CZ 21. All machines can be hip mounted. Three really great machines to choose from. My first choice out of these three would be the Excalibur. Why? Because it uses 17 different frequencies at one time. Basically the more frequencies a detector has the more targets it can pick up at one time also giving more depth to individual targets. It is Primarily, the best beach and water detector today. If you have used the whites Prizm for the last 6 yrs and your wanting something better for another 6 yrs,.. I would make my next upgrade one that would be a significant difference in comparison to the Prizm like one of these awesome beach detectors. Good luck!

RustyGold

Gold Member
Aug 16, 2013
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XP Deus I & II
Xterra Pro
Primary Interest:
Other