AT Max- Now I'm on the fence

Phishfindr

Bronze Member
Apr 7, 2017
NEW ENGLAND
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Minelab Equinox 600, Garrett Pro Pointer AT Z-Lynk, Lesche digging tools, Pack Mule finds bag by Freeloader.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm new to detecting. I have been using a Fisher F22 for 4 months, and like it. I watch a lot of detecting videos, and Garrett products seem to be everywhere. The AT Pro and AT Gold look like great machines. When the AT Max was announced in early May, I convinced myself it would be THE machine to have for years to come. More power, greater sensitivity, water proof, wireless earphones, solid brand, etc. So I pre-ordered one. (A/K/A impulse buy!)

After waiting for so long to get it, and now finding out it won't be available until August or September, I'm wondering if I should hold off until it is tested and reviewed multiple times by multiple users, and then decide. It's definitely not cheap, and I'm a casual user at this point, 3-4 hunts a month. I live in CT, and hunt beaches, lake shorelines, woods, and fields. Perhaps the Max is overkill for what I need?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Tom

sprailroad

Silver Member
Jan 19, 2017
Grants Pass, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Garrett A3B United States Gold Hunter, GTA 1000, AT Pro, Discovery Treasure Baron "Gold Trax", Minelab X-Terra 70, Safari, & EQ 800, & Nokta Marko Legend. EQ 900.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting