Curtis416

Nov 11, 2013
Los Angeles
Detector(s) used
Looking
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi everyone!

Let me start out by saying i'm a newbie and have never detected, but have been interested in this hobby for quite some time now. I live in los angeles and plan to detect at my local beaches, parks, and lakes. Treasure first and then gold secondary are my primary targets. I only want one detector. Not really into experimenting with different brands, models, etc..... I just want what is going to be the best for me right now and the future. Learning curve and price aside, the two, VERY different models i have narrowed it down to are the new ATX and the At pro. I know the ATX is a PI and the at pro is vlf, but i really don't know which one will serve me best? Any of you experts out there - your help and advice is appreciated!!

Last edited:

jackedliberty

Oct 5, 2013
Hagerstown, MD
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm no expert by far, but the ATX will pretty much do everything you've ever wanted and more, including being submersible in water up to 10 feet. It is really really good for gold nugget hunting as well, from what I understand. It will do much better in wet sand and saltwater than the AT Pro due to the pulse induction.

However, the AT Pro is the best bang for buck and will detect a lot that the ATX will as well, but maybe not as far down and won't do as well in saltwater (but still pretty well). If you're new to the hobby like I am, I would suggest the AT Pro first.

SoCalBeachScanner

Aug 17, 2013
Coastal Orange County, CA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATX, AT Pro, ProPointer, and a weirdly good sense of direction
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
-
Hi Curtis,

Being new as you are and not knowing your budget, but you did list the areas you are planning on detecting, an AT Pro would be a good all purpose fit.