Jun 23, 2012
Florida
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Found:
4 buttons marked: Virginia Sic Semper Tyrannis; on back: Waterbury Co's Conn
4 buttons: Eagle and stars; on back: Superior Quality
1 button: Anchor and 3 Stars; on back: Firmin & Sons, London
1 button: Profile of man. Text: "Docendo Discimus Exnihilo Nihil Fit" which translated means: "We learn by teaching. Out of nothing comes nothing." Your feedback welcome!
dscn0218.jpg dscn0220.jpg

Last edited:
Upvote 6

CRUSADER

Gold Member
May 25, 2007
ENGLAND
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II v0.6 with 11" Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I think you over-paid...lol

ekeisler

Apr 6, 2013
The majority of those buttons are definite reproductions but there may be 1 that is real. I'm not an expert though.

wagbert

Mar 29, 2008
Reproductions are $ 2-3 apiece on some sites I was looking at earlier today. I am not convinced those are repro's though. If they were modern made, would they have the manufacture's backmark? I hope some military button collectors chime in and comment on your find. I just bought three groups of military buttons from ebay sellers. Two lots were pretty good with mostly common G.S. types. One lot was mixed, with some decent looking items, but the backs were a little strange. A couple were plain backs, and I believe these are what is called "Fashion Buttons". They look like military buttons at first glance, but were made to jazz up civilian jackets, etc.. Whatever they prove to be, I think you got a good deal for a quarter! :D Probably $25-30 on ebay.

A2coins

Gold Member
Dec 20, 2015
Ann Arbor
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I think by looking at the eyes on the back repro

OP
OP
V

vscience

Jun 23, 2012
Florida
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting