Battery ?

Coasty

Feb 2, 2010
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter 505
My Bounty Hunter 505 says to use Alkaline batteries only. Called them and they said some of the recharageables actually are 9.4 v.; where alkalines are typically 8.9. They stated there is a possibility of damaging the circutitry due to over voltage. NiMH batteries are typically 9.4 volts and Nicads are around 8.9 which the did recomend if I wanted to use recharageables. Anyone else has any other info it does not seem that .4 volts would hurt things but I am no expert.

Madmans Legend

Feb 24, 2010
Detector(s) used
Whites XLT, Minelab Excalibur II, Whites Beach Hunter ID, Whites Surfmaster II, Whites TM808, Whites Amphibian 2, Bounty Hunter 505, Garrett Infinium LS, Minelab Exterra 705, Minelab CTX 3030
You have nothing to fear. 0.4 Volts over wont hurt your machine. Im an electrical engineer and from experience Ill tell you that there is an internal voltage regulator at the power input to filter out any sudden voltage changes comming from the battery. Depending on the regulator used they can usually handle slightly over 3V higher than the recomended battery voltage that powers your detector.

Charlie P. (NY)

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2006
South Central Upstate NY in the foothills of the h
Detector(s) used
Minelab Musketeer Advantage Pro w/8" & 10" DD coils/Fisher F75se(Upgraded to LTD2) w/11" DD, 6.5" concentric & 9.5" NEL Sharpshooter DD coils/Sunray FX-1 Probe & F-Point/Black Widows/Rattler headphone
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Let them sit for a couple hours after charging. They pop out fresh at 1.6 volts per cell but soon self-discharge to 1.2 volts.

I fly R/C and my eight-cell transmitter drops from 12.1v to 11.4v in the 20 minutes it takes me to drive to the airfield. If I let it sit overnight it drops to 10.6v.

GulfCoastRelix

Mar 2, 2010
Pensacola
Detector(s) used
Garrett 250 / Garrett Ace Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting