Bentonville Battleground

R

rjs0203

Hey All,

Need some advice. I am a beginner. I live fairly close to the Bentonville Battleground. Does anyone know a good area around there to search for artifacts or possibly campsites? Any sugggestions on resources? I know I cannot search on the battleground itself.

I am also trying to find good maps or possibly GPS resources on troop movements and possible camp locations..any recommendations?

Now the bad news..I am starting out with an old White's Coinmaster db1..I know..I hear the laughter hehe...any chance in finding anything with that or is it hopeless?

What would be a better dectector for this purpose?

I would appreciate any help that you could offer.

Thanks!

Richard Steg

Upvote 0

bullFL

Mar 2, 2005
Clearwater Beach Area FL
There are areas going towards Goldsboro, from Bentonville Battle ground headed to Goldsboro don't remer the road name but there is an old house on right side next to road. Farmers house is on the left. I ask him permissiion many years ago to detect his fields, and woods. He said go right ahead and directed me to a dirt road and told me to go into the woods about 200 yards and i would find old earthern defencive mounds. I went there and found the mounds and detected some of the area. I did ok but my time was short so I had to quit before the sun went down. This is an excellent area to search, but make darn sure that you DO NOT go onto the Bentonville Battle field boundaries. Getting your detector taken away and having to go to court is no fun, Know where you are at.

Ilovetodig

Feb 14, 2005
Now in Guam
Detector(s) used
ACE 250/ Fisher D2
I'm not sure where you could go there but perhaps you should start by asking the locals if they know of any place you can detect at.

Zeke

Oct 26, 2004
Jackson Creek,NC
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Hi Richard,