Best detector for "trashy searching"?

wayne_etc

Jul 28, 2005
Huntsville, Alabama
Detector(s) used
Explorer II
Best detector for "trashy searching"?

A little survey, if you don't mind...

What detector, in its stock configuration (stock coil) would you say is the best for searching trashy areas? Again, with the STOCK coil rather than a small sniper coil?

I'm asking this because trashy settings seem to be the most common places we look. Sure, some of us are field searchers that can run a machine wide-open and dig everything, but I don't think that represents most of us.

Swing on!

w

Upvote 0

spartacus53

Banned
Jul 5, 2009
Whiting, NJ
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Re: Best detector for "trashy searching"?

That is a good and interesting question. I am new to this hobby and still learning on a daily basis. I use an Ace 250, but have added the 14" x 10" excelerator coil. I think no matter what machine you have you would still run it wide open, not to miss anything.

RPG

Bronze Member
Jan 10, 2009
Alabama
Detector(s) used
Silver Umax, Compadre, Vaquero

On the lower end of the price range I would say the compadre because it comes stock with the 5.75" coil. On the upper end I would say some of the minelabs. I have never used a ML but from reading posts here made by others they seem to pick thru trash very well. I do however own a compadre and it is very good in trash. I was able to disc out a small square nail then lay it on top of a merc and detect the merc from all angles.

Randy

Woodland Detectors

Gold Member
Nov 23, 2008
Toll Free ~ 855~966~3563
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting

RPG said: