Best metal detector for me?

thrstyunderwater

Tenderfoot
Dec 14, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I know I know, I can read the forums, scour the web and come up with my own answer.

But I've started enough hobbies to know where to look.

Here's my info:

I'm a wildlife graduate student and spend my summers and falls in south central Nevada doing wildlife field work (coyote biology research). It's an extremely remote area that has a super rich mining history. Lot's of old cabins, mine shafts, small settlements, etc.

I won't be at the beach, so I don't know that super water proof is important. I'm completely off the grid, so will have to charge the battery with a car charger or solar panels a lot of the time; electricity is at a premium where I'm at. I imagine a lot of the "treasure" I'll be looking for could be quite deep, as most of the mining activity ended in the area in the 1890's.

I'm also interested in good head phones and whatever digging and sifting tools folks might recommend. I'd like to spend $300 or less on the detector, am up for recommendations on what add on's I might need.

I'm 6'3", 29, and in shape if that matters.

fella

Bronze Member
Oct 24, 2012
Wisc
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Garrett Ace 350. Performance is better than price reflects imho. Plus you get a pouch,digger(cheap) & headphones w/it.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I know I know, I can read the forums, scour the web and come up with my own answer.

But I've started enough hobbies to know where to look.

Here's my info: