BH Pioneer 202. Im new, but learning fast. Need some pointers please!

Formula1BMW

May 29, 2008
Montgomery, AL
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202
BH Pioneer 202. I'm new, but learning fast. Need some pointers please!

Hello. I am new to this hobby but I am starting to get the bug for it...bad! So my girlfriend bought me the 202 for Christmas. I really have just started with it in the last two months. I'm currently searching my yard.

Now when I first turned this detector on, I just set auto notch, turned up the sensitivity and went at it! I thought it was junk because i kept getting signals, and digging...nothing!! I was ready to throw it away...so I took the time to LEARN how to work it. WOW!! Nothing like reading instructions huh?!? So now I have found a lot of coins, pennies, dimes, quarters, nickels, of course a bunch of trash, and a couple of weeks ago...A silver ring! Sweet! OK, so now I'm really hooked right, I keep finding pennies though...Well over the holiday weekend the best find yet...A 1897 Barber quarter about three inches down!!! :o I am going to post a pic of it, as it is in very nice condition. I freaked out, my yard has never been checked!

OK, now to the question. I have been using the detector in all metal mode, with no discrimination, picking up everything. I keep finding plenty of zinc to copper penny tones. I have also turned the sensitivity way up, then added just a bit of discrimination, trying to knock out some of the trash. But all I can seem to come across is pennies. Is this because I need to adjust setting further, or is the yard just really full of pennies, and very little else? Is my 202 missing more of the silver tones? I just don't think that is true, especially after finding the Barber in such a shallow depth. Any suggestions. Thanks.

OP
OP
Formula1BMW

Formula1BMW

May 29, 2008
Montgomery, AL
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202
Re: BH Pioneer 202. I'm new, but learning fast. Need some pointers please!