Bounty Hunter Tracker IV

DirtHead

Greenie
Mar 10, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Apologies if this is the wrong thread, I just registered. I'm new to the metal detecting hobby and I've been doing some research on how to find good metal detecting sites and what not, but I'm not sure if I'm using my metal detector correctly. I decided to purchase the entry-level BH Tracker IV as my first metal detector because I am short on funds and also because I wasn't sure if this would be a hobby that I would actually stick with. I realize that this is a cheap MD so it's not going to pick up everything, but I'm wondering if you guys that have used the Tracker IV can give me some tips to help me out. My best find so far has been a silver spoon from the 1900's. Mostly I just find garbage and clad coins. Does anyone who has used the Tracker IV have any tips on settings that I can use to find more goodies and less junk?

Right now I usually set the sensitivity to about 4/5 and the discrimination to 3/4 on tone mode. I find mostly clad coins. I've only found two wheat pennies (1954 & 1915). I don't even bother with low tones because I just assume they are pull-tabs. Even though they could possibly be a gold ring.

Last edited:

cjon455

Gold Member
Jun 4, 2012
Northeast PA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac
Garrett Propointer
Garrett Propointer-AT
Sampson T handle shovel
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
well, I started with that same machine, its a good move because if for some reason you decide you don't like the hobby, the sting isn't so bad. However after only 2 months recovering clad and some basic finds like you've said I had to upgrade, I then bought a ace 350 for just over three hundred bucks and haven't looked back yet, since then I bought an atpro for 550, and am currently working on getting my etrac in 2 weeks!, if you end up loving the hobby, which I suspect you may, you get sucked in real quick lol!!!