Brand New and Not Sure Where To Start

rjwhite

Tenderfoot
Jun 17, 2011
Hello everyone. I read a lot of posts on here once I found the site and am impressed by what some of you are doing. I am a middle school teacher in Cobb County and live in the Dallas, GA area. I have lived here about 6 years and do not know many people in the area. I am brand new to this and do not know where to start. I am going to purchase a metal detector and plan to touch base with local historical societies, but otherwise am at a lost of what to do. I see there are a couple of clubs but as a parent, teacher, and grad student I sometimes have a hard time getting to those. Any suggestions or direction from experienced hunters would be appreciated. My finds will be used in my classroom as examples of the past and not be for sale. I could buy some but there is no story to that to get the interest of the students, I want to use this as a teachable moment when we cover this in the curriculum. I appreciate your help and wish you all the best of luck!

Tuberale

Gold Member
May 12, 2010
Portland, Oregon
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster Pro
rjwhite said: