Buffalo with a blob

dirtfisher1127

Aug 8, 2011
I've posted this nickel on some coin sites without much success. Almost everyone who had an opinion thinks this is a piece of solder or other material added after the coin left the mint. I have examined the piece VERY closely, and the material is the same nickel material which comprises the coin. Embedded in the "blob" are several letters--possibly part of "Liberty" but are of a different style than those of the Buffalo.....I thought maybe from a coin of another denomination. I truly believe this is some sort of mint error, but first, I am NO expert, and second, the coin belongs to me, and that may make me somewhat partial to my theory. What do you guys and gals think--mint error, or a later "add on"? I would love to hear your opinions, no matter whether pro or con! Thanks!

Attachments

• ErrorNickel.JPG
    ErrorNickel.JPG
    88.9 KB · Views: 478

CoinHELP!

Aug 9, 2009
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Whites
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I can see the letters, and the font is off another coin type and denomination. So my opinion is that another coin was melted onto this coin, and it might have been on purpose. A house fire would have melted both coins.

I just can't think of anything during the minting process that could cause this to happen.

OP
OP
D

dirtfisher1127

Aug 8, 2011
CoinHELP! said:
I can see the letters, and the font is off another coin type and denomination. So my opinion is that another coin was melted onto this coin, and it might have been on purpose. A house fire would have melted both coins.

I just can't think of anything during the minting process that could cause this to happen.
That's an excellent theory, and one I had not thought of--I think you might be on to something! Thanks!

capndan151

Apr 29, 2007
Costa Mesa CA
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX