Buying graded gold

jim4silver

Silver Member
Apr 15, 2008
I stopped by one of my coin dealers today and he had just purchased a nice hoard of ungraded St. Gaudens. All but a few were in MS condition (the few not MS had been cleaned in some manner) and he said he was gonna send them off to be graded, and he expected MS 64+ on each. He let me look at them and they were awesome coins. I am by no means an expert on grading coins, so it was cool to see the difference between a cleaned coin and one that was "pure" so to speak. When you put them side by side it is easy to see.

Seeing these coins today made me wonder how many more of these coins are in the hands of collectors? I bring this up because one selling point dealers try to use on graded gold (besides the what I feel is BS confiscation argument), is that these coins are very limited and they often site the grading companies population numbers of coins graded by year and type.

I bellieve that there are still hoards of these coins (ungraded) that gold bugs and collectors are holding on to. The coin dealer said he bought the St. Gaudens from an older person who had been holding them for years and years. Although these coins are definitely more rare than modern day bullion, who knows how many MS 65 1927's are sitting out there waiting to be graded?

The premiums on these things are several hundred bucks over spot (MS 65 on common years are almost double spot price). I wish I had bought a bunch before they became so popular last year because they are beautiful coins. I doubt though that the premiums will hold up over time if gold goes way up and the population reports on these years and grades keeps growing as more of them get sent to be graded.

Jim

jewelerdave

Aug 29, 2007
Fort Collins, Colorado
Detector(s) used
I just follow my nose!...where the silver and gold goes!
Minelab 5000, Goldmaster, and a few others
XRF spectrometer, Common sense.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
There are huge numbers of them.