dustyboots

Greenie
Apr 4, 2017
State of Jefferson
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am fairly new to prospecting but have some questions regarding claims in California. I use landmatters to research areas to prospect and see what claims are in the area. From this you only get the 1/4 section where the claim is located. My question is regarding locating where a claim lies(Many unmarked or very poorly marked in my area). Is it the claim owners responsibility to mark a claim at least with location marker and 4 corners, possibly other markings as well? It seems as it would be as in California, as a property owner, to keep others from hunting your land you would need to both post and fence your land to keep others from hunting your land. Or if you wanted to keep free range cattle off your private property it would be your responsibility to fence them out. If claim owners are in fact real property owners why would this not be any different? It seems odd to make the fellow prospector know where claim boundaries lie when the claim owner would obviously have the best knowledge and ability to properly make boundaries. Without investing considerable time at the local county office and becoming somewhat of an amateur surveyor how does someone navigate claims especially when they are unmarked or marked very poorly? I am not talking for the purpose of staking my own claims right now but just for panning and prospecting in general. Thanks for any clarity anyone can add

Upvote 0

n01d3x

Apr 24, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The only way to know is by going to the county and getting the maps for those claims. As a claim owner I do not believe you HAVE to mark your claim boundaries. You have different rights to a claim in regards to private property, than you do your house etc. For example, if your claim in on public property you can't keep people off of it, they just can't collect the minerals on the land.

bcfromfl