Can anyone help?

martinj

Jul 10, 2011
I know everyone has been asked over and over I'm sure. But I'm new to all this but very interested. I have read alot of the post. I have gathered alot of good advice. I am looking to buy a MD and dont want to spend alot of course. What I will be using it for is relics and coins but of course I love the stories of looking for nuggets. I live in Georgia and travel the east coast alot. Alot of camping so I want to add to my hobby. I will be traveling to Arizona in Dec for a month hopefully so I am trying to plan ahead. Lots of practice before. Please help Martin

Upvote 0

Smudge

Bronze Member
Jul 9, 2010
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
A Propointer tied to a stick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi Martin.

OK, you're looking for coins, relics, and gold nuggets. Finding one detector to do that is not going to be easy. Gold detectors tend to run at a very high frequency, so they are less than responsive to lower conductivity targets.

Having said that however, I think I can recommend a detector that should do an excellent job with all three of your requirements. Actually, there are two, but they are nearly identical machines.

One is the Gold Bug Pro made by Fisher. The other is the G2 made by Teknetics. Each will run you about $700.00.

No, it isn't cheap, but no gold detector worth its salt is cheap. You can save some bucks on coin machines. You'll pay a little more for decent relic machine. But for a decent gold machine you are getting in $500+ territory.

I would advise you pay particular attention to the G2 as more has been written about it and see if you think that one fulfills all you present needs. I think it will.

Good luck to you.

Woodland Detectors

Gold Member
Nov 23, 2008
Toll Free ~ 855~966~3563
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting