Can gold have a copper tint? Pics enclosed

baggerman

Jan 30, 2009
Corvallis, OR
I am new to gold mining and have been learning a ton. I went to a claim yesterday that belongs to a club I joined and brough home 3 five gallon buckets that I dug from the banks (hardpan and tough digging) to pan at home because this time of year there is no water in the creek. I have found coor in every pan and even a few small pieces I was able to pick up with tweezers and then I found this piece. To me it looks like it has a cpper tint to it and not the bright glittery gold I have been seeing. Is this gold with maybe some other stuff mixed in?

Attachments

• gold1.jpg
    gold1.jpg
    52.4 KB · Views: 947
  • gold2.jpg
    gold2.jpg
    7.4 KB · Views: 4,652
Upvote 0

tertiaryjim

Aug 5, 2008
I cant be certain what you have from the picture,Could be gold or part of a bullet jacket. Ma nature blends lots of metals and copper is one often found alloyed with gold. You could put it in a 15% solution of NITRIC ACID . The copper will dissolve into the acid and the gold will be left. This creates fumes and must be done outdoors. The best thing you might do is ask one of the club members . They will know what gold from that area looks like. Jim

Nov 8, 2004
Alamos,Sonora,Mexico
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
HI: It most certainly can, in fact most gold coins do have some copper in them for many reasons. Native gold can alloy with many other metals. Pure gold is too soft to use by itself.

As for your speciman, I would have to see it personally to have a reasonable idea.

Don Jose de La Mancha

OP
OP
B

baggerman

Jan 30, 2009
Corvallis, OR
I scratched it with a pocket knife and looked at it with a magnifying glass (old eyes don't ya know) and I am about 90% sure it is gold. I really appreciate the input, lots to learn.

strickman

Bronze Member
Jan 27, 2008
Villa Rica georgia
Detector(s) used
gold bug pro,garret,whites,tesoro,bounty-hunter,,.....
Primary Interest: