Cant tell if this is gold....

S

Seeker Of Truth

I discovered this creek that has just endured water from thawing and some heavy rains recently and the banks have been cut deep by this and is still fresh. the dirt is soft and alot of gray clay near the bottom. I happened to look down and i see a rock that has very very small gold glints in it, its not a vein, its just "flakes" in the rock, i pop the rock in my knapsack and walk maybe 7ft down the river and come to a rather large quartz formation that has been exposed from the river bank. this formation is very fragile and is loaded with this "flake"... I'm not getting my hopes up, it could be pyrite, or mica, but the thing is is mica isn't native to my state... but I'm in a glacial state so it could have been brought down from Canada maybe? I can isolate some of the flakes, maybe enough to test them just i need to know the proper way to do this as i have no real experience with this... :icon_thumleft:

Upvote 0

jimmygoat

Dec 1, 2009
Northern Cal.
Detector(s) used
Minelab SD2200D-5 inch dredge
Hello Seeker, Try scratching a flake. It shouldn't fall apart. It should scratch like a piece of lead. I hope its gold. Good luck. Jimmygoat

OP
OP
S

Seeker Of Truth

And if it does fall apart, what could it be?

Im actually gonna head back out there with a few buckets and a hammer and such and get as much of that rock as possible cause i guess rain is in the forecast, and its already starting to spit. I can just bring what i want home and sift and test it here.

OP
OP
S

Seeker Of Truth