Chance of gold in this rock

GarryinFL

Greenie
Oct 7, 2011
FL
Detector(s) used
White's GMT
I have a White’s GMT metal detector I was using in a creek in north Georgia and found this rock on the bank of the creek. My MD registers this like a hot rock (I guess) according to the manual that came with the MD. I am new at this. My MD sounds off but does not display any bars on the display like it does when it detects iron. No grunt (iron) but no zip-zip (gold/aluminum) either. All the visible glitter in this rock is mica, mica is in abundance in this creek and in the dirt in this area. I broke the rock into pieces and this rock seems to have different kinds of rock layers. My question is – is this just a hot rock or do rocks like this sometimes have small gold flakes/flour that might line up enough for the MD to register but not have the zip-zip sound? ???

Attachments

• P4070034.JPG
    P4070034.JPG
    199.2 KB · Views: 317
Upvote 0

Rawhide

Silver Member
Nov 17, 2010
SouthWestern USA
Detector(s) used
Nox 800, Etrac, F75, AT Pro. Last two for sale.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Is this a meteorite? Is it very heavy?

jcCALIF

Jun 13, 2012
Yorba Linda
Detector(s) used
TDI PRO, VX3, Surfmaster PI PRO, TRX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Light reflected from mica will "turn on/off"as you move the specimen about. Gold's color will remain constant. If you put some of your specimen in a gold pan, mica will float about, gold will "stick." An important question would be, has gold been found in the area that you were hunting? Gold can turn into a "hot rock" if it is in a matrix with something else (as is usually the case in nature). When I run my VX3 in the Mojave desert on a single frequency 22.5 khz (to mimic a gold machine) gold nuggets can sometimes look like "hot rocks." If only prospecting was just so plain and simple then everyone would be doing it! Right?

OP
OP
G

GarryinFL

Greenie
Oct 7, 2011
FL
Detector(s) used
White's GMT