Chasing ghosts??

Metal.detective

Oct 29, 2012
Roanoke Rapids NC
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Ok guys I need some help. I've been detecting for a few years now...I don't know everything but I'm pretty good with my AT Pro...on land that is...old home sites...fields...parks...you get the picture. I've been beach hunting on the Outer Banks maybe twice before this year...I've already been 4 times in 2013. I'm new to the beach deal I guess you could say. So my question is...when I'm hearing a tone and it sounds good and I dig and check the hole to see if my target's out...why do some of the targets I hear just vanish? I mean poof...gone...I'll check 3 feet around the hole in each direction with no luck...conditions: wet sand...GB of 15-18...sensitivity at half to one above half mark. And feel free to throw in some good tips. It's me and my mom when we go and she loves this hobby as much as I do. I'd like to be able to put her on her first ring or Spanish silver...I know y'all can help!

Upvote 0

Fletch88

Silver Member
Mar 7, 2013
Valdosta, GA
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATPro- 8.5x11, 5x8, CORS Fotune 5.5x9.5
Tesoro Silver microMax- 8 donut, 8x11 RSD, 3x18 Cleansweep
Minelab Excalibur ll- 10" Tornado
Minelab CTX 3030
Minelab Xterra 305
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I had the exact same experience with my AT Pro at the beach in the wet sand. I dug several holes deeper and deeper only to have target vanish. I have since sold it and run a PI machine on the beach. I believe these "ghost" signals are falses caused by the wet sand. Even when your a few feet up in dry sand away from water your are still reaching down into wet line causing false hits. Good luck and HH.

Sent from my iPhone using TreasureNet

ron lord

Bronze Member
Apr 2, 2007
Zephyrhills Fl
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
excel 1000 with 8 inch coil, Garrett AT MAX and a silver U MAX
Primary Interest: