May 7, 2013
Palestine, AR
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone,

I am new to metal detecting and I am wondering where you go to find civil war site in different towns. I am mainly looking for civil war history in Arkansas, mainly the eastern part of the state. I didn't know if there was a website or certain kinds of books I need to read up on. Anything you can tell me will help, I have searched all over the internet but I must not be searching for the right thing. Thanks

Upvote 0

Citiboy289

Aug 9, 2012
North Georgia
Detector(s) used
Various depends on the need at the moment
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
A useful tool is look on the web under your state and see if they have a website for all their roadside historical markers.
If you can find such a site for your state, it will give you some leads as to where action within a general area.
Check out the signs ( here in GA ) you can actually read the Marker on line, Get info like what units, ect, where they were advancing to ect.
Then RESEARCH < RESEARCH RESEARCH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
RESEARCH is 90% of this hobby, Makes no difference if you have a $300 Acer to a Thousand dollar top of the line , , If you dont know where to look , Its a waste of time , unless your into POPTOP TABs
Good lLuck

goldnrelics

Apr 1, 2013
Northern Virginia
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Cortés, Tejón, Cibola, Cutlass II, Garrett Pro-Pointer, Killer Bee's
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Yep research, research. Go to your local used book store and get some books on the battles or camp grounds of your state/area. the books usually give detailed information on where exactly to look. Good luck and HH

Citiboy289

Aug 9, 2012
North Georgia
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
We are pretty lucky here in Georgia, Since General Sherman had done his military internship , as a civil engineer , here in Georgia