Civil War Officer Buckle? Antique shop find...Any thoughts Gents?

Ihatepoisonivy

Feb 22, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Would anybody know any details about this buckle, I noticed it had 6 pointed stars, can't seem to find much..found one similar that states it was a infantry officers buckle....any ideas? I assume it's copper and not brass since the patina is green.
ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1423795411.386366.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1423795434.247325.jpg

Upvote 7

ResurrectedVirginia

Jan 8, 2014
Virginia
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter QuickSilver
Garrett AT PRO
Garrett propointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Looks like a regulation Model 1851 sword belt plate. Its in incredible shape. I can't tell you much else. I'm not an expert but many different styles, patterns, and varieties exist and many different companies made them.

ResurrectedVirginia

Jan 8, 2014
Virginia
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter QuickSilver
Garrett AT PRO
Garrett propointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
HAHAHAHAA "I hate poison ivy" nice name man. I hate it to.

OP
OP
Ihatepoisonivy

Ihatepoisonivy

Feb 22, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sweet, it does have that larger hook tab on the back like those...

voodoo

Nov 10, 2013
calgary
Detector(s) used
AT Gold, Pro pointer AT, Lesche digger, Garrett digger.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
WOW that is in excellent shape!!

parsonwalker

Bronze Member
Feb 16, 2013
Virginia
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Modified GI Mine Detector (In the 60s)
Metrotech (In the 70s)
Tesoro Tejon (Now!)
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I think ResVa hit it! Nice buckle!

ARC

Gold Member
Aug 19, 2014
Tarpon Springs
Detector(s) used
JW 8X-ML X2-VP 585
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It "looks good"... but fakes and forgeries are very good as well.
The experts here should be able to sort it out.
great find if real.

Fullstock

Bronze Member