Cobra

gtlfindings

Jan 11, 2007
ny
Detector(s) used
TESORO DeLeon
I know Ive been asking alot of questions lately about detectors but I want to besure I get a good detector for a decent price...I figured I can shop through treasure net at kellyco and find something...I really want to search beach, parks coins, relics, pretty much anything Iwant a good all around detector thats easy to use... I saw a few like the mp5 Which some have said no good....I saw this:
http://www.kellycodetectors.com/cobra/beachmagnet-buy.htm
how good is this brand of detector??
I see that everyone says its a matter of preference but I don't really know much...I have a bounty hunter 2...Very basic had some trouble I lost the manual and have issue balacing it near the seawater....still I found some clad and pulltabs pretty deep...And the coil is waterproof....But kelly co says its for kids....Hmmmm..Does anyone think it could still be a good detector??? Like I said I am a novice...Not looking to spend more than 3 and change tops......I would put an ad on Craigslist for a metal detector just want to know what types are good ,reliable ,sturdy and easy to use.Everyone on this forum has been so helpful I appreciate the time!!
Gerald

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You are much better off sticking to either Whites, Garrett, Tesoro, or Minelab manufactures instead of the kid stuff. Most of these Off Name brands are China junk and the warranty is nill to worthless. Operation iffy and quality materials a no-no. There are plenty of great used major brands on ebay that can be had at a good price, but your best option is to bite the bullet and buy a new major brand. If you go with the cheap, that is the performance you'll get.